Messi's claim to the referee in El ClásicoOct 262020
The action claimed by the captain of F.C. Barcelona happened in the first half, in the Real Madrid area.
The Spanish football classic played last Saturday between F.C. Barcelona and Real Madrid (1-3) was marked by the controversial performance of the referee Juan Martínez Munuera, from whom Lionel Messi claimed one of his refereeing decisions and the scene was not broadcast on television.
The action claimed by the scorer occurred in the 27th minute, when Real Madrid midfielder Casemiro, in an attempt to steal the ball from him, swept into the area, touched the ball but also took the Argentine ahead. The Barcelona captain did not claim at that time and shortly afterwards Martínez Munuera stopped the game to consult the play with the VAR, which determined that there was no penalty.
However, when the players and the refereeing team were in the tunnel prior to the second half, Lionel Messi explained to Munuera his version of what happened in that play. "I arrive earlier [to the ball]. I arrive earlier, I anticipate and it is my turn," said the Barça captain in disgust.